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FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE 
 

 
Family & Medical Leave refers to unpaid family, caretaking and medical leave for 
eligible employees.  Eligible employees may be able to take unpaid family, caretaking or 
medical leave under Federal and/or State law. 
 
Wisconsin law allows employees who have worked at least 1, 000 hours in the past 12 
months to take the following leave in a calendar year: 
 

1. Up to 6 weeks of family leave for the birth or adoption of a child.  This leave 
must begin and end within 16 weeks of the birth or adoption of a child. 

2. Up to 2 weeks of family leave to care for a child, spouse, parent or spouse’s 
parent suffering from a serious health condition. 

3. Up to 2 weeks of medical leave for an employee to care for his/her own 
serious health condition, which render him/her unable to perform the essential 
functions of the job. 

 
Federal law allows employees who have worked at least 1,250 hours and 12 months to 
take up to 12 weeks of leave during a twelve month period commencing with the first 
day of FMLA usage for one or more of the following reasons: 
 

1. Family leave for the birth of an employee’s child or because of the placement 
of a child with the employee for adoption or foster care. 

2. Family leave to care for a child, spouse or parent suffering from a serious 
health condition.  Federal law does not provide for leave for a spouse’s 
parent. 

3. Medical leave for an employee to care for their own serious health condition 
which renders them unable to perform the essential functions of the job. 

 
If the employee qualifies for leave under both the Wisconsin and Federal leave, the 
leaves will run concurrently and will be deducted from an employee’s leave entitlement 
under state and federal laws. 
 
Each work day or work week in which an employee works fewer than the regularly 
scheduled hours for that employee by using partial or intermittent leave, the specific 
amount taken will be deducted for purposes of computing leave taken and leave 
remaining.  Intermittent leave may not be taken in increments of less than ½ hour. 
 
Procedure:  Employees who need to take family leave for birth/adoption/foster care 
placement must request leave from their supervisor at least 30 days in advance of the 
need.  Employees who take medical leave should make reasonable efforts to schedule 
planned medical treatments so as not to unduly disrupt business operations.  
Employees must provide at least 30 days notice for planned medical treatments for 
themselves or family members, and as much notice as practicable in emergency 
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situations.  Request for leave forms are available from the County Administrator’s 
Office. 
 
Employees on medical leave will be required to provide a “fitness for duty” certification 
before they return to work to indicate that they can perform the essential functions of the 
job.  This should be obtained from the health care provider. 
 
Prior to leave commencing, an employee’s health care provider may be required to 
complete and sign the necessary forms and medical certifications.  These forms are 
available from the County Administrator’s Office.  If required, the completed certification 
must be returned no later than 15 days of receipt. 
 
An employee may substitute accrued paid sick leave or other accrued leave for any 
portions of the unpaid 12-week leave period.  However, after the first two weeks 
(caretaking leave and medical leave) or the first six weeks (family/parental leave) the 
County may require than any paid vacation or sick leave be substituted for the 
remaining leave period. 
 
Upon return from family or medical leave, an employee will be returned to the position 
he/she held immediately prior to the leave if the position is vacant.  If the position is not 
vacant, the employee will be placed in an equivalent employment position. 
 
This policy provides an introduction to the rights provision of the family and medical 
leave laws.  Specific questions an employee may have about this law, substitution, 
insurance and benefits, etc. should be directed to the County Administrator’s Office. 
 
 


