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INTRODUCTION

The purpose of this handbook is to provide persons in Kewaunee County
who are involved in the family court process with helpful information concerning
actions affecting the family.

Parts I and II in the handbook deal with the divorce process, including the
procedure of divorce as well as the major issues in a divorce including legal
custody, physical placement, child support, maintenance and property division.

Part III of the handbook deals with post-judgment procedures including
modification and enforcement of child related issues.

Part IV includes community resources available to those who are involved
in a family court action.  The services provided through Family Court Services
are explained.

This handbook was prepared by William J. Wolske, Kewaunee County
Family Court Commissioner, and is based on the handbook prepared by the staff
of the Family Court Commissioner's office of Racine County.

This handbook is for informational purposes only, and should not be
construed as legal advice.  If you have a specific legal question concerning your
case, you should contact an attorney.  You can also review Chapter 767 of the
Wisconsin Statutes, which contains the law on actions affecting the family.  The
Wisconsin Statutes can be obtained at no charge on the Internet at
www.legis.wisconsin.gov/rsb/stats./html and at most public libraries.  A copy of
Chapter 767 of the Wisconsin Statutes may be purchased at the Family Court
Commissioner's office.  

The Family Court Commissioner's office will attempt to update this
handbook from time to time.

William J. Wolske
Family Court Commissioner
April 2014
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I. DIVORCE PROCEDURES

This portion of the handbook has been prepared by the Family Court
Commissioner's office of Kewaunee County with additions by attorneys of the
Kewaunee County Bar Association.  It is intended as a general or practical
information guide.  If you are involved or about to be involved in a divorce or an
action for legal separation and have questions beyond the information in this
handbook about your particular situation, you should consult an attorney who has
knowledge in family law.  (See Section I-J "A Divorce Attorney's Job.”)

This information was current as of 2013.  Changes in the divorce law and
procedure after that date are not included in this handbook.

NOTE:  This handbook will refer to divorce rather than legal separation or
annulment.  Most information about custody, support and property division is the
same whether the action is for divorce, legal separation or annulment.  If a judgment
of divorce is granted, the parties may not marry in this state or elsewhere until six (6)
months after the date the judgment is granted.  If a judgment of legal separation is
entered, a party or parties must apply to the Court to convert the judgment from
legal separation to divorce before they remarry.

I-A. STARTING THE DIVORCE

Before an action for divorce can be commenced in Kewaunee County, you or
your spouse must have lived in the state of Wisconsin for at least six (6) months,
and also must have lived in Kewaunee County for at least thirty (30) days.  Legal
separation or annulment may be commenced after only a thirty (30) day residency in
Wisconsin and Kewaunee County.  The current filing fee is $184.50.  An additional
$10 is required if there are children of the marriage or if maintenance is requested.

In divorce actions, the spouse seeking the divorce is the petitioner and the
other spouse is the respondent.  The action is commenced when the summons and
petition signed by the petitioner are filed with the Clerk of Court.  Next, authenticated
copies of the summons and petition must be served on the respondent, the Family
Court Commissioner, and the Child Support Agency if a spouse is receiving public
financial support.  Service of the summons and petition occurs when someone,
usually the Sheriff’s Department or private process server, delivers the papers to the
respondent and other persons.  Service of the summons and petition must be done
by someone other than the petitioner.  If  the papers cannot be served on the
respondent personally, then the Court can permit a summons to be published in the
newspaper.  A joint petition may be used if both spouses want to initiate the divorce
action.  Service of a summons is not necessary if there is a joint petition, but an
authenticated copy of the joint petition must be delivered to the Family Court
Commissioner and if applicable the Child Support Agency.

In Wisconsin, a divorce cannot be granted until at least one hundred twenty
(120) days after the day the summons was served on the respondent or until at least
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one hundred twenty (120) days after the filing of the joint petition.  During that
"cooling-off" period, some decisions of a temporary nature have to be made
concerning issues such as child custody, child support, and use of the family
residence.  Those issues are addressed at the f irst hearing, sometimes called the
temporary order hearing.

I-B. PREPARATION FOR THE FIRST HEARING/TEMPORARY
ORDER

You will be asked to take to your attorney's office and possibly to the first
hearing, the following information:

1) Wage statements for the previous eight (8) weeks.

2) Income tax returns for the past two (2) years.

3) Life insurance policies.

4) Latest bank statements for checking accounts.

5) Copy of your records concerning individual retirement accounts,
certificates of deposit, stock certificates, savings account passbooks,
and any other evidence of value of your assets.

6) If you own a home, take the latest mortgage notice from your bank or
mortgage company showing the balance due, a copy of the deed, and
latest real estate tax statement.

7) Any pension information, including any pamphlets or information
supplied by the employer.

8) Latest bills showing balance owed to each creditor.

9) Compute your total gas and electric bills for the last twelve (12)
months.  If necessary, call the gas and electric company and request
what the payment would be on a budget plan.

10) Completed preliminary financial disclosure statement, which is a form
your attorney will give to you to complete and return to your attorney
before the hearing.

As soon as possible, you should prepare an inventory of your household
furniture, equipment, appliances, tools, etc., stating a value based on what you think
someone would pay for these items considering the fact that they are now used. 
Additionally, you may be asked to sign and return directly or through your attorney
when appropriate: information concerning pensions, and cash value of insurance
policies and bank accounts.  Information gathering and organizing are an essential
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part of the divorce process.  Any information gathering that you do will make the
process easier for you to participate in as well as easier for you to understand.

The parties may have a first hearing before the Family Court Commissioner,
or enter a stipulation for a temporary order.  If the parties filing for divorce do not
schedule a first hearing, the Family Court Commissioner's staff will schedule one on
the request of a party. 

I-C. FIRST HEARING/TEMPORARY ORDER

In Kewaunee County, the first time the parties meet in the divorce process is
at the first hearing, often called the temporary order hearing.  Temporary order
hearings are held at the office of the Family Court Commissioner at 510 Main Street
in Kewaunee.  That office is located next door to The Karsten Hotel, which is at the
corner of Ellis Street and Main Street.  Temporary order hearings are generally
conducted on Thursday mornings or Tuesday afternoons.  Most initial hearings take
about one (1) hour.  If one party to the divorce has a temporary restraining order or
an injunction against the other party in the divorce, then the hearing is held at the
Kewaunee County Courthouse.

At the hearing, the Family Court Commissioner will decide who will receive
temporary custody and primary physical placement of the child(ren), who will have
periods of secondary physical placement with the child(ren) and under what
circumstances and time periods, who pays child support and in what amount, who
receives maintenance (formerly called alimony) and in what amount, who pays what
bills, who lives in the house, and other matters that have to be decided before the
final divorce trial.  The result is a written temporary order which remains in effect
until it is changed by another written order, the judgment of divorce is entered, or the
case is dismissed.

The temporary order also restrains the parties from harassing or molesting
each other and from interfering with each other's lives.  Also, the parties are
instructed not to sell any property and not to change medical or life insurance
coverage during the pendency of the action.  The order also directs the parties not
to borrow money or use joint credit cards during the pendency of the divorce.

The parties and their attorneys each will receive a copy of the temporary
order.  The next hearing is typically a scheduling conference which is generally
conducted by the Judge about 125 days after the first hearing.

 I-D. PERIOD OF TIME BETWEEN FIRST HEARING AND
SCHEDULING CONFERENCE: 90-DAY SUSPENSION

Between the first hearing and the scheduling conference, the parties begin to
live separately under the terms and conditions established in the temporary order. 
Child support, family support or maintenance is being paid, visitation is occurring
and the parties are determining what it is like to lead separate lives.  During this time
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or any other time while the divorce is pending, the parties may choose to live
together and try a reconciliation without dismissing the action.  This is known as a
90-day suspension.  

To enter into a 90-day suspension, you must file a written document which
will be prepared by your attorney or is available at no charge on the Internet at
www.wicourts.gov.  It must be signed by both parties and the Family Court
Commissioner or the Judge and filed with the Court.  Once the 90 days have
elapsed, the matter is placed on the Court's calendar for further proceedings as if
the suspension did not occur.  If one party wishes to revoke the 90-day suspension,
it can be revoked at any time, and the action will proceed.  Wisconsin law permits
one suspension up to a period of ninety (90) days.

I-E. SCHEDULING CONFERENCE AND FINANCIAL DISCLOSURE

After the divorce action has been pending for about four (4) months, a
scheduling conference takes place in the Circuit Court on the second (top) f loor of
the Courthouse, Circuit Courtroom 1, 613 Dodge Street in Kewaunee and is
conducted by the Judge.  The purpose of the scheduling conference is to determine
if one or both of the parties wish to proceed with the divorce and if so, to discuss a
settlement, and schedule further hearings as may be necessary.  If both parties wish
to be divorced at this first scheduling conference, a default divorce can occur.  (See
Section I-G "Default Divorce.")

At or before the scheduling conference, each party must submit a sworn
financial disclosure statement to the Court.  This document states the assets,
income, debts and monthly budget of each party and is signed under oath.  All
assets must be disclosed.  If any asset has been sold or otherwise disposed of
within one (1) year prior to filing the divorce, such assets must also be disclosed. 
Even if both parties have reached an agreement as to how the assets are to be
divided, the law requires that the value of the assets be listed on the financial
disclosure statement.

Of particular importance on the financial disclosure statement is the valuation
of the real estate and pension/profit-sharing rights of the respective parties, as those
assets may represent a substantial portion of the marital estate.  It is also important
to state the income of the parties accurately and fully as this information is referred
to in later years if there is a motion to modify the support or maintenance order.

Under Wisconsin law, the Clerk of Court is required to keep the financial
disclosure statements confidential and separate from the other documents in the
Court file.

If there is no agreement on the issues, the matter will be set for trial before
the Judge.  The parties generally meet prior to the trial date for a pretrial conference
before the Judge to attempt to settle the divorce.  At any time on or before the trial
date, the matter can be completed if both parties agree to all issues.
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I-F. THE STIPULATION

Most divorces are settled by an agreement known as a stipulation or marital
settlement agreement.  The stipulation will contain the agreement of the parties on
child custody and physical placement (visitation), child support, division of assets,
payment of debts, maintenance, and any other matters which relate to the divorce. 
If a divorce is settled by a stipulation, the matter can be heard in a very short time
after agreement has been reached and the 120-day waiting period has passed.  The
final divorce hearing will be conducted by the Judge.

I-G. DEFAULT DIVORCE

A default in divorce parlance does not mean you are behind in your divorce,
and it does not mean you have missed or failed to appear for hearings in the
divorce.  A default divorce is legal shorthand for a divorce in which all issues have
been resolved, and the agreement on those issues has been put in writing (the
stipulation) and signed by the parties.

A hearing for a default divorce is conducted by the Judge.  Generally at the
final hearing, both parties are present and both parties state that the m arriage is
irretrievably broken.  A Judge can also enter judgments on actions for legal
separation or annulment and divorces where only one party appears or only one
party states the marriage is irretrievably broken.

Certain documents must be filed with the Clerk of Court prior to or at the
default hearing:

- Written marital settlement agreement (stipulation)
- Current financial disclosure statement(s)
- Completed findings of fact, conclusions of law, and
  judgment of divorce.

I-H. TRIAL

At the trial before the Judge, the parties will submit the information the Court
needs to decide the case.  Statements of income, appraisals of the home, 
household furnishings, cars, boats, jewelry and all other personal property are
submitted to the Court.

Also submitted to the Court are the respective pension rights of the parties. 
Your pension or profit-sharing plan(s) must be valued and are subject to division by
the Court as assets even though you may not receive the pension or profit sharing
until you retire or leave your employment.

Federal law now permits a Court to divide the proceeds of a pension or profit-
sharing plan between the parties by use of a qualified domestic relations order

5



(QDRO), which provides for a division of pension benefits at the time the pension is
received or sooner depending on the terms of the pension or profit-sharing plan.

If custody of the child(ren) is in dispute, the Court will determine this very
difficult matter.  The Court also will consider the needs of each of the parties and the
child(ren) to set what child support and/or maintenance is to be paid.

Property is usually divided on a presumptively equal basis.  Gifted or inherited
property is generally not subject to division.

Contested trials may last from one (1) hour to several days, depending on the
number and complexity of the issues, and therefore may be more expensive than a
default divorce, where all issues have been agreed to by both parties.  (See Part II,
"Major Issues in Divorce.”)

I-I. DIVORCE JUDGMENTS

When the final divorce hearing occurs, whether it is stipulated or contested,
the attorney will present to the Court a final stipulation (if any), and a proposed
findings of fact, conclusions of law, and judgment of divorce in a single document
which will include any stipulations made.

It is important that you carefully read the final stipulation, and the findings of
fact, conclusions of law, and judgment of divorce and understand your rights and
responsibilities under the divorce judgment.  Please refer to it, your attorney, and
this handbook for any questions you may have about your divorce after it is final.

The divorce is final the day it is granted in Court by the Judge.  However, you
cannot remarry in Wisconsin or elsewhere until six (6) months after the divorce is
granted.

JUDGMENT OF LEGAL SEPARATION

If the petition of one of the parties is for legal separation, the law requires that
the specific reasons for requesting a legal separation be listed in the document. 
Under Wisconsin law, the Court has the power to grant a judgment of legal
separation.  If both parties wish to convert the judgment of legal separation to 
divorce, they may apply within one (1) year of the granting of the legal separation to
convert the judgment to divorce.  After one (1) year, either party may request the
Court to convert the judgment of legal separation to divorce and the Court is
required to convert the judgment.  Generally, if the Court is confronted with
conflicting petitions of divorce and legal separation, the Court will grant the divorce. 
In order to remarry in the state of Wisconsin, a person must be divorced or his or
her spouse must be deceased.  If the judgment is for legal separation, one or both
parties must seek to have it converted to divorce before they are free to remarry. 
After the judgment of legal separation is converted to divorce, you must still wait six
(6) months after the date of the conversion to remarry.
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I-J. A DIVORCE ATTORNEY'S JOB

What does a divorce attorney do for his or her client?  What must the client
do for his or her attorney?

The main responsibility of a divorce attorney is to protect the client's rights,
promote the client's interests, and secure a fair settlement of the client's disputes
using the skill, talent and knowledge that the attorney has acquired.  The attorney
must explain the divorce laws and procedures and how they will affect the client and
his or her family, property interests and income.

An attorney is a professional whose judgment and advice should be
independent and objective.  As the divorce proceeds, the attorney must help the
client define his or her goals and understand the available options based on the
facts of the case and then work out a proposal and strategy.

The client should assist the attorney by compiling all relevant financial
information.  This includes real estate tax statements, mortgage and debt amounts,
savings and IRA balances, life insurance cash values, vehicle information, and a
monthly budget for the client and his or her children if they will be residing with the
client.

The client should keep the attorney informed of any significant relevant
events.  The client should remember, however, that the attorney is not a counselor
or psychologist and the client should get other appropriate professional help for
emotional problems caused by the divorce.

The client will be expected to pay the attorney.  The attorney’s fees should be
discussed at the first meeting and it should be clear as to what is expected of the
client.  The client will need to pay the attorney an advance fee (retainer) before the
attorney will represent the client.  Attorneys are paid for their services rendered
based on factors including the results obtained, the attorney's expertise and
reputation, the difficulty of the matter, and the time involved.  The more time
involved, the more money you will owe your attorney.  Frequent phone calls, extra
court appearances, and extended litigation will increase your attorney fees
substantially.  The client should use common sense in dealing with everyday events. 
It helps to keep notes of questions or events, so the client can remember them
when meeting with the attorney. 

An attorney-client relationship is a confidential relationship and must be
based on mutual trust and understanding.  The client, therefore, has a duty to his or
her attorney to be honest and to disclose all the facts and circumstances of the
situation to the attorney.  Otherwise, the attorney can be "blind-sided" and be unable
to protect his or her client properly.  The client must realize, however, that full
financial disclosure is required by the law.  The attorney has a duty to the Court and
must disclose all information available and cannot hide any available information.

An attorney cannot guarantee any result to a client.  Most divorce actions end
with the parties agreeing to a written settlement of all disputes.  The attorneys
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attempt to negotiate a settlement that is fair and reasonable to both sides under the
circumstances.  Some matters in the agreement will be the result of compromise on
both sides.  If settlement efforts fail, the attorney and client must prepare for trial to
the Court.

I-K. PRO SE DIVORCE

Some people choose to not retain the services of an attorney and represent
themselves during the divorce action.  "Pro Se" is Latin and means "by one's self.” 
A person who is involved in litigation and has not retained an attorney is said to be
appearing pro se.  If there are any disputes about child custody, support, 
maintenance or property division, most people find that it is best to have an
attorney.  

Even if both parties are in full agreement on all issues and neither party
chooses to retain an attorney, the basic divorce procedures still apply.  A joint
petition or a summons and petition must be filed with the Clerk of Court.  A copy of
the joint petition or summons and petition has to be served on the Family Court
Commissioner and the Child Support Agency if applicable.  The Clerk of Court will
notify the parties of the final hearing date.

At least twenty (20) business days prior to the final hearing date, the parties
must provide the original of their current financial disclosure statement(s), marital
settlement agreement, and findings of fact, conclusions of law, and judgment to the
Family Court Commissioner for his review and approval.  After approved by the
Family Court Commissioner, and at least five (5) business days prior to the final
hearing date, the originals and necessary copies of those documents must be
submitted to the Clerk of Court.

Basic information about the procedure for obtaining a divorce is available
from the Family Court Commissioner.  Obtaining the specific divorce forms to be
used and properly completing and filing the forms is the responsibility of the parties. 
The required forms are available at no charge on the Internet at www.wicourts.gov. 
Neither the Family Court Commissioner nor his staff are allowed to provide legal
advice to parties involved in actions affecting the family in this county.

I-L. PARENTING PROGRAM

Before your final divorce hearing, each parent will be required to attend an
educational program on the effects of divorce on children and providing training in
parenting or co-parenting skills approved by the Court.  The program available
through the county consists of two (2) classes on consecutive weeks for two (2)
hours each week.  Pre-registration for the program is required and the cost of the
program is $25.00 and must be paid at the first session.  A certificate of completion
will be issued once the parent completes of the program.  The original certificate
must be filed with the Kewaunee County Clerk of Court and a copy sent to the
Family Court Commissioner, prior to your final divorce hearing.
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II. MAJOR ISSUES IN DIVORCE

II-A. GROUNDS 

Since 1978, the grounds for granting a divorce are that the marriage is
irretrievably broken and that reconciliation is unlikely.  This no-fault concept
eliminates the need of either party to make accusations against the other in order for
the divorce to be granted.

If the divorce is to be granted, one of the parties must state that the marriage
is irretrievably broken.

If the petition requests a legal separation, the Judge will grant a legal
separation if the parties testify the marital relationship is broken.  However, if the
respondent files a pleading with the Court requesting a divorce, then the Judge will
decide if a divorce or legal separation will be granted.

II-B. CUSTODY OF CHILDREN

Legal custody means the right to make major decisions affecting the
child(ren).

The Court will decide, either by your agreement or by its judgment, which
parent should have legal custody of the child(ren) during the divorce, if requested,
and after the divorce.  Legal custody of a child is the right to make major decisions
concerning the child.  Unless there is a history of violence between the parents,
there is a presumption that joint legal custody is in the best interests of the
child(ren).

Physical placement is the condition under which the child is physically placed
with a parent.  (See Section II-C "Physical Placement.”)  A parent having legal
custody by court order also has the power and duty to authorize necessary medical,
educational, surgical, hospital, dental, institutional or psychiatric care for the child.  A
parent with legal custody also has the power to give or withhold consent for the child
to marry between the ages of 16 and 18, or to enter the military service.  A parent
with legal custody has the right to choose the school and religion of the child.

The law allows the Court to grant custody of the child(ren) to both parents
jointly.  Joint custody means that both parents share legal custody and
responsibilities and neither party's rights are superior, unless specified by the Court. 
Both parents share in the decision-making for the child(ren) concerning such
matters as schooling, religious training, and medical and dental care.  Joint custody
does not mean that there will be a switching of the parents or the child(ren) every
week.  The physical living arrangement of the child(ren) is another issue and should
be agreed upon by the parents.  You and your spouse are encouraged to enter into
a joint custody arrangement and mutually agree on the periods of physical
placement (visitation) with each parent.  If you and/or your spouse think that the
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services of an independent mediator would help you schedule periods of physical
placement, either parent may submit a written request for mediation.  The request
for mediation is submitted to the Director of the Kewaunee County Family Court
Services, who in Kewaunee County is also the Family Court Commissioner.

If the parents are unable to agree which parent should have legal custody or
primary physical placement of the child(ren) and there is no agreement for joint
custody, it will be necessary for the Family Court Commissioner at the initial hearing
and until the final trial, and the Judge at the time of the trial, to determine which
parent should have custody of the child(ren).  In all cases where legal custody
and/or physical placement are contested, the Judge or Family Court Commissioner
will first refer the parties to mediation.

II-C. PHYSICAL PLACEMENT

A child has a right to be physically placed with a parent.  The Family Court
Commissioner in the temporary order and the Judge in the final divorce judgment
may designate which parent will have primary physical placement.  Primary physical
placement (as opposed to periods of secondary physical placement) means with
whom the child(ren) will live.

The Court will designate in most, if not all, cases which parent will have
primary physical placement of the child(ren) as part of the custody/physical
placement order.

II-D. PERIODS OF PHYSICAL PLACEMENT

Placement is the court-ordered right of a noncustodial parent to have contact
with his or her child(ren).

The concept of parental visitation rights and physical custody have been
replaced under Wisconsin law by the requirement that the Court, in actions affecting
children, allocate periods of physical placement between parents if it is in the best
interests of the child(ren).  Whenever the Court enters a custody order, it must
allocate periods of physical placement between parents.  Both parents will have
"periods of physical placement" or "physical placement" rights to the child(ren).  The
Court will set a placement schedule that allows the child(ren) to have regularly
occurring, meaningful periods of physical placement with each parent, and that
maximizes the amount of time the child(ren) may spend with each parent.  "Periods
of physical placement" are defined as the time(s) which a parent has the right to
have the child(ren) physically placed with that parent, and during the placement, the
right and responsibility to make routine daily decisions regarding the child(ren)'s
care.  These routine daily decisions may not be inconsistent with any major
decisions made by a parent with sole legal custody.

Oftentimes the allocation of periods of physical placement are agreed to by
the parties and stated in the court order or divorce judgment such as "the
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noncustodial parent shall have the child(ren) at reasonable times upon advance
notice."  This means it is up to the parents to decide how to share the child(ren)'s
time with each other without intervention by the Court.

In most cases, the parents work out a physical placement schedule
themselves.  There are many models to choose from.  You should work toward that
result which will work best for your divided family.  Even though parents may
disagree on many matters, this is one area where agreements are possible and
encouraged.  Those arrangements can vary widely, depending on the parties.  A
customary visitation schedule is listed at Section IV-C of this handbook.  Parental
access to the child(ren) is to be encouraged by both parents, and the Court will not
stop a parent's physical placement rights unless it is shown at a court hearing that a
parent's periods of physical placement would endanger the child(ren)'s physical,
mental, or emotional health.  In those instances where physical placement
arrangements cannot be worked out, the Family Court Commissioner as part of the
temporary order or the Judge in the final judgment of divorce will set up the dates,
times, places and conditions for physical placement.

Any person who feels his or her physical placement rights are being
interfered with may apply to the Family Court Commissioner for assistance.  You do
not have to retain an attorney to do this.  Upon receipt of a completed application,
the Family Court Commissioner will assign a mediator approved by Family Court
Services to meet with both parents and attempt to mediate the dispute.  If the
problem cannot be resolved through mediation, then one parent or the other will
need to petition the Court for the Judge to decide.  The Judge will then more than
likely appoint a Guardian ad Litem to conduct an investigation and make
recommendations to the Court on physical placement.  You are encouraged to
retain an attorney if it becomes necessary to take the matter to court.

No court may deny periods of physical placement for failure to meet a
financial obligation to the child(ren) or a former spouse.

Both parents are entitled to have access to a child(ren)'s medical, dental, and
school records regardless of who has legal custody, unless they have been denied
by court order the right to have periods of physical placement.

II-E. MOVING CHILD(REN) INSIDE OR OUTSIDE THE STATE

Pursuant to Section 767.481 of the Wisconsin Statutes, a parent with legal
custody and physical placement rights shall provide the other parent with physical
placement rights, and the Court, with not less than sixty (60) days' written notice of
his or her intent to:

(1) Establish legal residence outside the state; or

(2) Remove the child(ren) from the state for a period of more than ninety
(90) days; or
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(3) Establish his or her residence within the state at a distance of 150
miles or more from the other parent.

The notice must be sent by certified mail.  The notice must specify the
proposed date the move is to be effective, the destination, and that the other parent
may object to the move within a designated 15-day time period.

Within 15 days after receipt of the notice, the other parent may object, in
writing, to the proposed change.  The objection must be served on the other parent
and also a copy must be filed with the Court.  If one parent files a notice of objection
to a move or removal of the child(ren), the parent proposing the move is prohibited
from moving the child(ren) until an order is entered by the Court on the issue of the
proposed move.  The parent proposing the move, upon receipt of a notice of
objection to the move, may request the Court to enter a temporary order permitting
the move to occur.

The Court or Family Court Commissioner will promptly refer the parents for
mediation or other Family Court Services and may appoint a Guardian ad Litem to
represent the interests of the child(ren).

If the parent proposing the move has sole legal or joint legal custody of the
child(ren) and the child(ren) resides with that parent the majority of time, the parent
objecting to the move may file a motion with the Court for modification of the legal
custody or physical placement order affecting the child(ren).  Under current law, the
Court only has power to alter legal custody or physical placement.  The Court does
not have the power to prevent the other parent from leaving the state or moving
within the state.

If the parents have joint legal custody and substantially equal periods of
physical placement with the child(ren), either parent may file a motion with the Court
for modification of the legal custody or physical placement order if the child(ren) is
going to be moved.  If a motion if filed, the Court may modify the legal custody of
physical placement of the child(ren) and/or prohibit the move or removal of the
child(ren).  The Court will consider those factors it is required to consider in
determining if there should be a modification of custody or placement.  There is a
rebuttable presumption that the current orders of custody and placement shall
continue, however that presumption may be overcome by a showing that the move
or removal is unreasonable and not in the best interests of  the minor child(ren).  The
burden of proof is on the parent objecting to the proposed move or removal.

Another provision under Wisconsin law is a notice requirement for removals
of fourteen (14) days or more.  Unless the parents agree otherwise, the parent with
legal custody and physical placement rights is required to notify the other parent
before removing the child(ren) from his or her primary residence for a period of not
less than fourteen (14) days.
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II-F. MEDIATION/CUSTODY STUDY PROCESS

MEDIATION

Mediation is offered by Family Court Services to separated or divorced
parents who are seeking to resolve problems concerning custody or placement of
their child(ren).

Mediation is also offered by Family Court Services to people with placement
rights seeking to resolve problems concerning the child(ren) of separated or
divorced parents.

WHAT IS MEDIATION?

Mediation is an effort by the parties to reach a mutually acceptable solution
through a communicative process structured and aided by an objective third party,
the mediator.

Mediation is defined by statute as a confidential and cooperative process
involving the parties and a mediator who will help the parties define and resolve their
own disagreement(s) by applying communication and dispute resolution skills.  The
best interests of the child(ren) are of paramount consideration.

WHEN IS MEDIATION INVOLVED?

You may be referred to Family Court Services by the Circuit Court or the
Family Court Commissioner in these instances:

1) Whenever there is a contested court action, whether on initial
determination or modification, of an existing court order affecting legal
custody and/or physical placement of a child; or

2) Whenever parents involved in an ongoing court action indicate to the
Court or the Family Court Commissioner's office that they wish to have
joint legal and physical custody, but need some assistance in coming
to an agreeable arrangement; or

3) Whenever a parent objects to the Court to moving a child within or out
of the state pursuant to Section 767.481, W isconsin Statues; or

4) Whenever the Family Court Commissioner is notified by a parent that
there is a problem relative to the periods of physical placement or
physical custody OR a person with placement rights or physical
custody notifies the Family Court Commissioner of such a problem; or

5) When parents indicate to the Family Court Commissioner that they
both wish to make some changes in their legal custody or physical
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placement arrangement but need some assistance in coming to an
agreement.

MUST I BE INVOLVED IN MEDIATION?

In the first four situations described above, one (1) session of mediation is
required by law.

WHY MEDIATION?

While the court system is very adept at making decisions, the Courtroom may
be a poor place for either parent to fully express his or her concerns.  Frequently
matters are decided, but problems and needs remain.  In the emotionally charged
atmosphere around divorce and separation, it is often difficult, if not impossible, for
two sides to effectively communicate and respond to those issues where some
interests are shared and others opposed.  The fact that mediation is the preferable
method to resolve most disputes stands on these facts: most people are capable of
problem solving, and most people want to participate in making those major
decisions which will affect their lives and the lives of the other members of their
family.  Mediation offers people a way to do this and to resolve their conflict by
finding the solution most suited to their needs.

Mediation has other inherent advantages.  While mediation requires a certain
amount of honest effort, the emotional and financial demands of litigation can be far
more costly to all concerned.

Looking to the Court to amend the terms of physical placement as a last
resort promotes the misconception that this is a final activity.  Unfortunately, the
Court's decision may be only one step along the way in what will be an ongoing
escalation which could deplete financial resources and further alienate the parents.

Instead of becoming the "last step," the Courtroom scene may become one
of many steps along the way.  Mediation, in concept, is designed to offer parents the
opportunity to avoid the Courthouse "step(s)."

ARE THERE ANY EXCEPTIONS?

The Court might determine that it is inappropriate to attempt mediation based
upon presented evidence that there has been child or spousal abuse, that either
parent is impaired by alcohol or drug abuse, or that either parent’s health or safety
would be endangered by attending the mediation session.

In those cases where mediation is required by law, the Family Court
Commissioner will not make a referral to Family Court Services if written proof is
provided that an acceptable alternate provider of mediation has met or will meet with
the parents.
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WHO IS INVOLVED IN MEDIATION?

Usually only the parents are involved in mediation.  However, if the mediator
thinks it is necessary, the mediator has the option to interview the child(ren).  The
attorneys for the parents and the attorney for the child(ren) (Guardian ad Litem) are
generally not involved.

WHAT ISSUES ARE DISCUSSED IN MEDIATION?

The mediator is only permitted to discuss the issues of custody and physical
placement of the child(ren) during the mediation process.

The issues of property division, maintenance, and child support will only be
discussed if they directly relate to the issues of custody and legal placement and
both parents agree in writing to consider one or more of those issues in mediation.

The mediator is required to review with the parents at the first session the
nonfinancial provisions that must be included in the parenting plan under
sec. 767.41(1m), Stats.  The required parenting plan form can be obtained at no
charge on the Internet at www.wicourts.gov.

WHAT IF MEDIATION DOESN'T WORK?

If at any point it is found to be inappropriate to continue the mediation of the
case assigned as the result of court referral, the parents and the Court are so
informed by the mediator, and mediation ceases.

WHO DECIDES IF MEDIATION IS OVER?

The mediator has the power to suspend or terminate the mediation if he or
she determines that a parent will not cooperate or mediation is not appropriate.

WHAT HAPPENS THEN?

If one parent has filed a motion for change of custody and mediation has not
been successful, the Court may order the investigative process to begin.  A different
person will be assigned to do the investigation and prepare a custody and
placement study, because a mediator, by law, cannot disclose or reveal information
which was disclosed in mediation.  The only exception to this requirement occurs
when both parents agree in writing to the same worker from Family Court Services
doing the investigation.  Otherwise, all activities occurring during mediation are
confidential.  In any event, child abuse and neglect must be reported to the proper
authorities.
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CAN MEDIATION BE RE-ENTERED?

If the parents are agreeable to trying the mediation process once the
investigation is under way, they may return to mediation.  If Family Court Services
remains involved, the original mediator will be reassigned.  If, at this point, mediation
services are involved for the first time, a different worker than the investigative
worker will be assigned to mediate.

CONFIDENTIALITY?

All statements made to the mediator are confidential by law.  The mediator
will not be permitted to testify in court at any time in any proceeding involving the
parents.

The parents may waive this confidentiality, but both parents’ consent is
necessary before the waiver can be accepted by the Court.

WHAT DOES MEDIATION COST?

The initial session is a screening and evaluation session to see if, 1)
mediation is appropriate and, 2) both parents wish to go through the mediation
process.  If mediation is deemed appropriate and both parents consent to mediate
the dispute, and an agreement is reached at the initial session, there is no charge to
the parents.  If mediation goes forward beyond the initial session, there will be a fee
of $200 due and payable prior to the second mediation session.  The parents may
share that fee one half (½) each, or one or the other parent will pay it in full.  Once
the fee has been paid, the parents may return to the mediator to attempt to resolve
any disputes.  

In those cases where mediation is provided by a resource outside of 
Kewaunee County Family Court Services, the costs involved may vary and are the
responsibility of the parent or parents.

In those situations where mediation has been voluntarily sought and
mediation fails, the parties will be informed that mediation will not continue.  Then, if
either parent wishes to pursue the matter, it becomes his or her responsibility to take
the matter to court by a motion filed with the Court.

PARENTING PROGRAM

In an action affecting the family involving a minor child, including requests for
mediation, each parent is required to attend an educational program on the effects
of divorce on children and providing training in parenting or co-parenting skills
approved by the Court.  The program available through the county consists of
two (2) classes on consecutive weeks for two (2) hours each week.  Pre-registration
for the program is required and the cost of the program is $25.00 and must be paid
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at the first session.  A certificate of completion will be issued once the parent
completes the program.  The original certificate must be filed with the Kewaunee
County Clerk of Court and a copy sent to the Family Court Commissioner.  In
divorce actions, a copy of the certificate must be sent to the Family Court
Commissioner prior to the final divorce hearing.  In support, custody or paternity
actions, a copy of the certificate must be sent to the Family Court Commissioner
prior to commencement of the mediation referral.

THE STUDY PROCESS

If mediation is not successful and no agreement is reached and a motion for
change of custody or placement has been filed, the Court may refer the matter for a
custody study.  A social worker who works with Family Court Services will be
appointed to conduct the custody study.  That worker will be someone other than
the mediator.  The study will consist of the social worker interviewing both parents,
the child(ren) and any other relevant persons.  As a result of the study, the social
worker will recommend as may be appropriate, which parent(s) should have custody
and what periods of physical placement each parent should have.  The Court will
consider the recommendations of the social worker in making its determination on
custody and physical placement.

The Court will also appoint an attorney to represent the child(ren) in the
custody case.  This attorney is called the Guardian ad Litem, and it is this attorney's
job to represent the best interests of the child(ren).  (See Section II-H "Guardian ad
Litem.")   The Guardian ad Litem also interviews both parties and the child(ren),
makes recommendations to the Court and gives reasons behind the
recommendations.

The cost for the custody study and the attorney fees for the Guardian ad
Litem are expenses which the parents must bear in addition to their own attorney's
fees.  A single flat fee of $300 is assessed for custody/physical placement studies. 
That fee is in addition to the $200 fee for mediation sessions in excess of the first
session.  Prepayment of mediation and custody study fees and a deposit of $300 to
$500 to be applied to the Guardian ad Litem's fees are often ordered by the Court.

The Court may also order a psychological evaluation of the parents and/or
the child(ren) if deemed appropriate.  This may be done at the request of one of the
parents or at the request of the Guardian ad Litem.  This psychological evaluation is
done by a state-licensed psychologist who ordinarily conducts psychological testing
of the persons evaluated to determine their intellectual functioning as well as their
emotional or psychological health, i.e., does the person have any personality
disorders, addictions, neurosis, or psychosis, etc.  The evaluation also usually
includes an extensive interview with the person evaluated.  The evaluation may
include an appraisal of the respective strengths and weaknesses of the parties as
parents as well as a recommendation regarding custody and placement issues. 
These recommendations can be considered by the Guardian ad Litem in making his
or her recommendation and can be considered by the Court in making its decision. 
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This evaluation may also be useful to the parents in reaching a stipulation or
agreement on contested issues relating to custody and physical placement.

The cost of the psychological evaluation is normally several hundred dollars
per person evaluated, depending on the number of tests conducted, the length of
the interviews and extent of the written report.  The cost is normally shared by the
parents as an expense of the proceedings.

The Court will consider the following factors in determining custody and
physical placement:

1) The wishes of the parents.

2) The wishes of the child(ren).

3) The relationship between the child(ren) and each parent, sibling and
any other person who may significantly affect the child(ren)’s best
interest.

4) The amount and quality time each parent spent with the child(ren) in
the past.

5) The adjustment the child(ren) must make to the home, school, religion
and community.

6) The age of the child(ren) and the child(ren)’s developmental and
educational needs.

7) The mental and physical health of the parents and child(ren).

8) The need for regularly occurring, meaningful physical placement to
provide predictability and stability for the child(ren)

9) The availability of child care services.

10) The cooperation and communication between the parents.

11) Whether each parent can support the other parent’s relationship w ith
the child.

12) Whether there is evidence that a parent engaged in abuse of the
child(ren).

13) Whether there is evidence of interspousal battery or domestic abuse.

14) Whether either parent has or had a significant problem with alcohol or
drug abuse.

15) The reports of appropriate professionals if admitted into evidence.
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16) Any other factors which the Court determines relevant.

Wisconsin law provides that the Court may not prefer one parent over
another on the basis of sex or race.  The Court shall consider all factors in the best
interests of the child(ren).

Custody and physical placement disputes may be lengthy and bitter and can
be very costly, not only in terms of money, but in terms of the adverse effect on the
emotional well-being of the child(ren) and the parents.  Even if one parent is
awarded custody in a divorce, the other parent will receive physical placement rights
which can be extensive.  No one wins a custody battle.  One only loses less than the
other.  A thoughtfully stipulated arrangement determined by the parents themselves,
after considering the needs of the child(ren) and the parents, often results in a more
successful relationship between parents and child(ren) after the divorce.

Any person who has concerns about mediation of custody and physical
placement issues may apply to the Family Court Commissioner's office for
assistance and information at any time.

II-G. GUIDELINES TO ASSIST BOTH PARENTS IN DEALING WITH
THEIR CHILD(REN)

 When parents separate, neither becomes less of a parent unless he or she
chooses to do so.  The parents divorce one another not the child(ren).  Admittedly,
each parent’s role may become more difficult, but if the motivating factor is the
child(ren)'s best interests, each parent has a greater chance to continue to be an
effective parent.  The child(ren) love both parents, divorced or not.  They also
continue to learn from or imitate behaviors of both parents.  Your behavior at this
time will affect your child(ren)'s growth as well as your relationship with them in later
years.  You may find it difficult, at times, to deal with your child(ren) as a single
parent.  If you apply the following guidelines, you will find the matter made easier.

A. BOTH PARENTS SHOULD:

1) Continue to teach their child(ren) to respect the other parent and
continue to allow them to love both parents.

2) Protect the child(ren) from displays of anger, hurt, mistrust and all
other bitterness toward the other parent.  This includes interrogation of
the child(ren) regarding the activities of the other parent as well as
demeaning the other parent in front of the child(ren).

3) Communicate with each other regarding visitation/periods of physical
placement and the child(ren) in general.  Do not arrange visitation
through the child(ren).  Not only does this imply lack of respect for the
other parent, but depending on your child(ren) to arrange such plans
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places unnecessary responsibilities on them and will cause many
problems.

4) Treat the child(ren) normally by not making promises of lavish gifts,
exciting outings, etc., to outdo the other parent.

5) If plans between parents conflict, decide which activity is most
beneficial to your child(ren), then give in if you should.  This is not a
win-lose situation as far as you or the other parent is concerned.

6) Never encourage the child(ren) to take sides between parents.  Many
children blame themselves for the divorce and forcing them to decide
between parents will only reinforce this misguided notion.

B. THE PARENT WITH PERIODS OF PHYSICAL PLACEMENT IS
RESPONSIBLE FOR:

1) Seeing the child(ren) frequently and consistently.  Avoid making your
child(ren) feel unwanted or rejected by making last minute
cancellations or by failing to see them on a regular basis.  Notify the
other parent in advance if you cannot see the child(ren) to avoid
disappointing them.

2) Being on time to receive or deliver the child(ren).  This will not only
benefit the other parent, but the child(ren) as well who will be excited
to see you, ready and waiting.

3) Spending time with the child(ren).  Your children are individuals.  Give
each child individual time during these periods.

4) Following through with any promises made by the parent.

5) Being with the child(ren) at reasonable, mutually agreed upon times
with the other parent.

6) Abstaining from the use of drugs and alcohol before or during times
with the child(ren).

C. THE PARENT WITH WHOM THE CHILD(REN) LIVE IS RESPONSIBLE
FOR:

1) Preparing the child(ren) for time with the other parent, both physically
and mentally.  Don't deprive them of the anticipation.  Let them know
they are not hurting your feelings by enjoying these times.  Have them
ready on time so as to accommodate the other parent, as well as the
child(ren).
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2) Making the child(ren) available for periods of physical placement when
possible, instead of continually making excuses, or trying to bribe them
with more exciting activities.

3) Keeping the other parent informed as to the health, schooling and
special events involving the child(ren).

4) Informing the parent with periods of physical placement rights as soon
as possible if the child(ren) will be unable to visit due to illness,
unexpected events, etc.

While everyone understands that in these situations a third party may
become involved, remember that your child(ren) need time to adjust to the
separation.  They may, in time, become accustomed to a third party, but the
situations cannot be forced.  At no time should your child(ren) be coerced into
accepting a third party as a replacement for his/her mother or father.  

Always consider what would most benefit your child(ren).  However, you are
the adults.  Do not allow the child(ren) to play upon the guilt or anger you may carry. 
They may be capable of using these circumstances to their own advantage.  Only
you, communicating with your former spouse and not jumping to conclusions, can
avert this situation.

Remember this can be a painful and disruptive period for everyone involved. 
You may very well have difficulty adjusting to your new situation.  Most people do. 
You cannot help your child(ren) adapt if you have not.  There are number of mental
health professionals in our area who can assist you.  Medical insurance policies
generally provide coverage for counseling services and many agencies charge on
the basis of ability to pay.  Family Court Services is available to refer you to these
persons, as well as to assist with any other problems or questions you have.

II-H. GUARDIAN AD LITEM

The Guardian ad Litem is an attorney appointed by the Court to represent the
interests of your child(ren).  During legal conflicts involving families, in pending
divorces or in post-divorce actions, the interests of the child(ren) can be separated
from those of the parents.  For example, if custody is contested, the Court relies on
the Guardian ad Litem to investigate, evaluate and put in evidence at a custody trial
from the perspective of the child(ren).  Similarly, a Guardian ad Litem represents the
child(ren) if custody, physical placement or paternity are in dispute.  If a parent with
custody or physical placement should wish to move outside of the state or establish
a new residence more than 150 miles from the other parent within Wisconsin, and
this move is opposed by the other parent, a Guardian ad Litem will again be
appointed to represent the child(ren).

The Court expects the Guardian ad Litem to recommend what he or she
believes is in the best interests of the child(ren).  This does not mean that the
Guardian ad Litem merely states what the child says he or she wants.  To answer
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this important question, the Guardian ad Litem will need to gather information from
all the parties, including the child(ren), and other outside sources, such as schools,
counselors and doctors.  The investigation focuses on the child to determine his or
her unique needs and preferences.  The Guardian ad Litem will work independently
from the attorneys representing the parents or other parties and the social worker.

The Guardian ad Litem's investigation will almost always include an interview
with the parents, the person caring for the child(ren) and people knowledgeable of
the parents.  The parents are required to cooperate.  Typically, each parent will be
interviewed separately at the Guardian ad Litem's office.

If appropriate, the investigation will also require a conversation between the
child(ren) and the Guardian ad Litem in private, out of the presence of the parent(s)
or other adults in the child(ren)’s life.  The Guardian ad Litem may choose to visit
with the child(ren) at the office, home or any other setting in which the child(ren) feel
comfortable and confident.  The goal is to develop a sense of trust between the
child(ren) and the Guardian ad Litem, and this may require more than one visit with
the child(ren).

As a representative of the best interests of the child(ren), the Guardian ad
Litem considers all facts in the best interest of the child(ren).  The Guardian ad
Litem does not prefer one parent over the other on the basis of sex or race.  When
considering the facts, a Guardian ad Litem pays attention to the following:

1) The wishes of the parents.

2) The wishes of the child(ren).

3) The relationship between the child(ren) and each parent, sibling and
any other person who may significantly affect the child(ren)’s best
interest.

4) The amount and quality time each parent spent with the child(ren) in
the past.

5) The adjustment the child(ren) must make to the home, school, religion
and community.

6) The age of the child(ren) and the child(ren)’s developmental and
educational needs.

7) The mental and physical health of the parents and child(ren).

8) The need for regularly occurring, meaningful physical placement to
provide predictability and stability for the child(ren)

9) The availability of child care services.

10) The cooperation and communication between the parents.
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11) Whether each parent can support the other parent’s relationship w ith
the child.

12) Whether there is evidence that a parent engaged in abuse of the
child(ren).

13) Whether there is evidence of interspousal battery or domestic abuse.

14) Whether either parent has or had a significant problem with alcohol or
drug abuse.

15) The reports of appropriate professionals if admitted into evidence.

16) Any other factors which the Court determines relevant.

After all this information is gathered, the Guardian ad Litem will make a
recommendation to the Court as to what he or she believes will be in the best
interests of the child(ren) regarding the issues in dispute.  If a trial is necessary, the
Guardian ad Litem will appear for the child(ren), questioning witnesses and
introducing evidence on behalf of the child(ren).  Helping restore stability, security
and harmony in the child(ren)'s life is an important responsibility of the Guardian ad
Litem.

Payment of the Guardian ad Litem's fees will be made by either or both of the
parents.  The Judge will decide who shall pay the Guardian ad Litem fees and how
much will be paid.  It is important that the parents understand that it is their
responsibility to pay the Guardian ad Litem fees.  If the parent is unable to pay for a
Guardian ad Litem and the parent meets income guidelines, the Court can order the
county to advance the Guardian ad Litem's fees.

II-I. MAINTENANCE; FAMILY SUPPORT

The Family Court Commissioner in the temporary order and the Judge in the
divorce judgment may order a spouse to make certain payments designated as
maintenance or family support to the other spouse during the pendency of the
divorce action or at the time of the final divorce hearing or after the divorce. 
Maintenance and family support are different from child support.  Maintenance,
which used to be called alimony, is a series of payments made by one spouse for
the support of the other spouse.  Maintenance payments may be ordered separately
from, or in addition to, child support.  Family support is a payment generally made at
regular intervals (weekly, biweekly, monthly) which combines maintenance and child
support.

The designation of payments as maintenance is important because payments
under maintenance orders are generally tax deductible to the person making the
payments.  On the other hand, the person who receives maintenance payments is
required to report the amount so received as taxable income and may have to pay
income tax on these amounts.  In contrast, child support payments are not
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deductible by the person who makes the payment, nor are they taxable income to
the person who receives them.

A party who decides to give up (or waive) any right he or she may have to
maintenance in the divorce judgment will not be allowed under any circumstances to
later seek maintenance from his or her former spouse.

If the parties to a divorce cannot agree as to whether maintenance should be
paid by one to the other or as to the amount or length of time maintenance
payments should be made, the Court will decide these issues.  The Court will
consider the following factors in determining maintenance issues:

1) The length of the marriage.

2) The age, physical and emotional health of the parties.

3) The division of the parties' property in the divorce.

4) The educational level of each party at the time of the marriage and at
the time the divorce action is commenced.

5) The present and future earning capacity of the party requesting
maintenance, including educational background, training, employment
skills, work experience, length of absence from the job market,
custodial responsibilities for the child(ren), and the time and expense
necessary to obtain education or training to enable the party to find
appropriate employment.

6) The feasibility that the party requesting maintenance can become self-
supporting at a standard of living reasonably similar to that enjoyed
during the marriage, and if so, the length of time necessary to achieve
this goal.

7) The tax consequences to each party.

8) Any agreement by the parties before or during the marriage for the
financial support of the parties or any mutual agreement of the parties
before or during the marriage wherein one party has made financial or
service contributions to the other with the expectation of getting
something in return or other compensation in the future and where
such repayment has not been made.

9) The contribution by one party to the education, training or increased
earning ability of the other.

10) Other relevant factors the Court considers important in the individual
case.
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On the basis of these factors, the Court may order an amount of maintenance
to be paid for a limited period of time or for an indefinite period of time in the future. 
Indefinite maintenance may be revised, terminated or extended by the Court based
on a change in the financial circumstances of one of the parties after the final
divorce hearing.  The party seeking a revision, termination or extension of
maintenance must petition the Court in writing with notice to the other party for a
hearing on the issue.

Limited maintenance may be revised, terminated or extended based on a
change in circumstances, but will automatically terminate at the end of the term
specified in the Court's order unless the person receiving maintenance petitions the
Court in writing with notice to the other party for an extension of maintenance prior
to the expiration of the original order.

If there is no specific agreement of the parties to the contrary, the Court will
terminate maintenance payments, on the death of either party or upon the
remarriage of the person receiving the payments, upon the application of the person
making the payments and upon proof of such death or remarriage.

FAMILY SUPPORT

Family support is child support and maintenance combined.  Previously
family support was used because of its tax advantages.  However, recently these tax
advantages have been greatly diminished, therefore, it is used very sparingly.  The
impact of the Marital Property Act has reduced the tax advantages of family support. 
Before family support is ordered, it is very important that both parties and attorneys
understand clearly the rights and responsibilities both parties have in reporting
payments of family support and deducting family support on their income tax
returns.

II-J. CHILD SUPPORT

Child support in Wisconsin is to be expressed as a fixed dollar amount, and is
based upon the percentage of income standard.  The percentage of income
standard states that the Judge or Family Court Commissioner shall order child
support in the following amounts: 

17% of noncustodial parent's gross income for one child
25% of noncustodial parent's gross income for two children
29% of noncustodial parent's gross income for three children
31% of noncustodial parent's gross income for four children
34% of noncustodial parent's gross income for five children or more.

Child support must be expressed as a fixed dollar amount based upon the
appropriate percentage listed above.  The parties may stipulate to expressing the
amount as a percentage of the payer’s income only if the following requirements are
satisfied:
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1) The state is not a real party in interest in the action;

2) The payer is not subject to any other order, in any other action, for the
payment of support or maintenance; and, 

3) All payment obligations included in the order, other than the annual
receiving and disbursing fee, are expressed as a percentage of the
payer’s income.

In every case where support is ordered, the Court must require the parties to
annually exchange financial information.  A party who fails to furnish the information
as required by the Court may be proceeded against for contempt.  In addition, costs,
including reasonable attorney fees, may be awarded to the party bringing the action. 
(See Section III-F “Enforcement of Child Support Payments.”)

Child support may be determined by a different formulae or modified
percentage standards in certain special circumstances such as:

A) Serial-Family: where a payer has children living in more than one
household.

B) Shared-Placement: where both parents have the child(ren) more than
25% of the time.

C) Split-Placement: parents who have 2 more children and each parent
has placement of one or more but not all of the children.

D) Low-Income Payer: a parent whose income or earning capacity is
below approximately 150% of the federal poverty rate.

E) High-Income Payer: a parent whose gross monthly income exceeds
$7,000.

The discretionary guidelines for determining support in these special
circumstances which the Court may consider can be found in DCF 150 which is
available at no charge on the Internet at http://dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs/resources/
laws.htm.

If a parent requests it, the Court may modify the amount of support under the
percentage of income standard if the Court finds by the greater weight of the
credible evidence that the use of the percentage is unfair to the child(ren) or to any
of the parents, using the following factors:

1) Financial resources of either parent or the child(ren).

2) Maintenance received by either parent.

3) The need of either parent to support himself or herself on a level equal
to at least the federal poverty level.
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4) The obligation either parent has, if any, to support another person.

5) The standard of living the child(ren) would have enjoyed had the
parents not divorced.

6) The desirability that the custodial parent live at home as a full-time
parent.

7) Cost of child care or value of the services of the custodial parent.

8) The allocation of physical placement to both parents.

9) Extraordinary travel expenses incurred to exercise physical placement
with the child(ren).

10) The child(ren)'s physical, mental, emotional health needs including the
costs of insurance and any uninsured health care of the child(ren).

11) The child(ren)'s educational needs.

12) The tax consequences to each parent.

13) The best interests of the child(ren).

14) The earning capacity of each parent, based on each parent’s
education, training and work experience and the availability of work in
or near the parent’s community.

15) Any other factors which the Court considers relevant.

If the Court determines, using one or more of the above factors, that the
application of the percentage of income standard is unfair, the Court must state in
writing all of the following:

A) Its reasons for finding that use of the percentage of income standard is
unfair; and

B) The amount of support that would be required by using the percentage
standard; and

C) The amount by which the Court's order deviates from that amount; and

D) Its reason(s) for finding that the use of the percentage standard is
unfair to the child(ren) or parent(s); and

E) The basis of the modification.

An order for joint custody does not affect the amount of child support ordered.
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Child support will be expressed as a fixed sum, and that fixed sum will
generally equal the amount required to be paid by the percentage guidelines.

II-K. SUPPORT PAYMENTS 

PAYING SUPPORT

Wisconsin law requires that all child support, family support, and
maintenance payments are to be paid to Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund. 
Please do not give the payment directly to the payee as those payments are
considered gifts.  Include your KIDS PIN and case number on your check or money
order.

Payments are due on the first date of commencement on your order. 
Generally child support payments are for the week following the date the payment is
due.

If you were ordered to pay support or maintenance, you should make the
required payments directly to Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund until the
money is withheld from your earnings or other source of income.  The address to
send your payment is:

Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund
P.O. Box 74200

Milwaukee, WI 53274-0200

Each year, the payer must pay $65 to the Wisconsin Support Collections
Trust Fund or its designee for a receiving and disbursement fee for the cost of
processing payments and maintaining payment records.  This fee must be paid at
the time of and in addition to the first payment due each year.  If the $65 fee is not
paid in a given year, the Kewaunee County Child Support Agency or the Family
Court Commissioner may request that the payer be found in contempt of court or
may request that the fee be paid by income assignment.

RECEIVING SUPPORT

Wisconsin law requires that all payments of support or maintenance be made
to Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund.  Upon receipt of the payment, the
Trust Fund will forward the payment to the payee either by direct deposit or debit
card, based on the payee’s choice.

Recipients of support or maintenance, including past due support, shall pay
an annual collection fee of $25 which will be deducted from the support,
maintenance, or arrearage payments after the first $500 is collected for the year. 
The “year” starts on October 1 and ends on September 30.

Notify the Child Support Agency of any change of address so the payments
will promptly be paid to you.

28



Any inquiries on your account should be made in writing.  Please include your
KIDS PIN and case number on all correspondence.

II-L. INCOME ASSIGNMENT

Each order for support or maintenance constitutes an assignment of income. 
The assignment of income is accomplished by an order of withholding which will be
sent to the payer's employer, or other source of income, by the Child Support
Agency.  Often the frequency of the required payment corresponds with the obligor's
pay period.

Once the payment is withheld from the paycheck of the payer, the employer
will send it to the Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund, P.O. Box 74400,
Milwaukee, WI 53274-0400.  The employer is entitled to retain $3 for this service
each time.

An employer is prohibited by law from disciplining an employee because of
the existence of an income assignment.

If the payer changes employer, within ten (10) days he or she must notify the
Child Support Agency of the name and address of the new employer.

If the payer's earnings change substantially, he or she must notify the Child
Support Agency of that fact within ten (10) days.

II-M. TAX EXEMPTION

Federal (rather than state) tax law provides that a parent with physical
custody of a child may claim that child as an exemption on his or her income tax
return.  However, given the present value of an exemption --$3,900 for 2013--
allocation of the tax exemption often enters into the negotiation of the amount of
child support.  Depending on the income of the parents, the exemption may be more
valuable to one parent than the other.

An award of a tax exemption can be phrased as awarded to:

a. one parent; or
b. alternating between parents year to year; or
c. alternating between parents depending on both parents having a

specific level of income.

If you have more than one child, you may negotiate a division of the
exemptions which allows you to claim a certain child or children while the other
parent claims the other child or children.

Under Wisconsin law, the Judge is required to order which parent will have
the tax exemption for which years if the parents have not decided between
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themselves which parent should take the exemption.  The Court shall make the
decision in accordance with state and federal law, and must also consider whether
the medical insurance plan of either parent requires that the parent with medical
coverage be awarded the exemption by the order of support.

If, as a noncustodial parent, you are awarded an exemption by the Court or
by stipulation, each year you will need to attach to your income tax return a copy of
the Court order and an original IRS Form 8332 signed by the custodial parent.  The
IRS Form 8332 is available at an IRS office or at no charge on the Internet at
www.irs.gov.  For further information, you should consult IRS Publication 505, your
attorney or income tax preparer.

II-N. PROPERTY DIVISION

Under Wisconsin law, the Court is required to attempt to divide all property
equally between the parties at the time of the judgment of divorce.  The only
exception is property which was inherited by or gifted to one party.  Gifted or
inherited property, if kept separate and not co-mingled, remains the property of the
party who received the gift or inheritance and is generally not subject to division.

Property owned before the marriage of the parties is subject to division
unless the parties have entered into a prenuptial or post-nuptial agreement which
identifies the property as that which was owned by the parties before the marriage
and not subject to division.

The Court will also consider the following factors when dividing the property:

1) The length of the marriage.

2) The property brought to the marriage by either party.

3) Whether one party has substantial assets (received by gift or
inheritance) that are not subject to division.

4) Economic contribution each party made to the marriage including
economic value of child care and homemaking services.

5) The age and physical and emotional health of the parties.

6) Contributions by one party to the education, training or increased
earning power of the other party.

7) Earning capacity of each party, including educational background,
training, employment skills, work experience, length of absence from
the job market, custodial responsibilities for the child(ren), and the time
and expense necessary to acquire sufficient education or training to
enable the party to become self-supporting at a standard of living
reasonably comparable to that enjoyed during the marriage.
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8) The desirability of awarding the family home or the right to live therein
for a reasonable period to the party having physical placement for the
greater period of time.

9) The amount and duration of an order under Section 767.56, Wisconsin
Statutes, granting maintenance payments to either party, any order for
periodic family support payments under Section 767.531, Wisconsin
Statutes, and whether the property division is in lieu of such payments.

10) Other economic circumstances of each party, including pension
benefits, vested or unvested, and future interests.

11) The tax consequences to each party.

12) Any written agreement made by the parties before or during the
marriage concerning any arrangement for property distribution; such
agreements shall be binding upon the Court except that no such
agreement shall be binding where the terms of the agreement are
inequitable as to either party.  The Court shall presume any such
agreement to be equitable as to both parties.

13) Any other factors which the Court determines relevant.
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III. MODIFICATION AND ENFORCEMENT OF
JUDGMENTS

III-A. MODIFIABLE ISSUES

Custody, placement and child support during the minority of the child(ren) are
provisions of the divorce judgment that can always be modified by the Court after
the judgment of divorce or paternity has been entered.  On custody and placement
issues, children are no longer subject to the jurisdiction of the Court when the
children are 18 years of age.  Child support may be modified until the child is 18
years of age or graduates from high school, but in no instance past age 19.

Maintenance can only be modified if it is granted in the original divorce
judgment.  If maintenance was waived or denied in the original judgment, it cannot
be granted later unless maintenance was held open.  If limited maintenance is
awarded, the motion to modify or extend the maintenance must be filed prior to the
end of the term of initial maintenance.

Property division may not be modified at any time after the judgment of
divorce is entered.  The only exception is if the judgment of divorce is reopened.  A
judgment of divorce cannot be reopened, except under circumstances of fraud or
neglect.

III-B. MODIFICATION OF CHILD SUPPORT

Orders relating to child support may later be changed or modified upon
request of either party after the entry of a judgment of annulment, divorce, legal
separation or paternity, either by written agreement of the parties, or after a court
hearing.  The modification generally requested is for a decrease or increase in the
existing order.  The Court will not change a child support order unless the party
requesting such change presents proof of a substantial change in circumstances. 
The burden of proving that modification is warranted (necessary) rests with the party
seeking to alter the provision of the current judgment.

PROCEDURE

If the parties and/or their attorneys can reach an agreement to modify the
amount of child support, the written agreement can be made part of a stipulation
and order to be filed with the Court which states the terms of the agreement.  If the
parties reach an agreement, the stipulation and order must be filed with the Court
with provision for the signature of the Judge, approved by the Family Court
Commissioner, and approved by the Kewaunee County Child Support Agency if the
parties or the child(ren) are receiving public assistance other than FoodShare.  An
agreement to modify the child support without an order is not enforceable and is of
no effect.  The order must accompany any agreement.
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If the parties and/or their attorneys cannot reach a written agreement to
modify the support out of court, the party seeking the modification must file a motion
with the Court.  The document filed with the Court may be called an order to show
cause and affidavit or a notice of motion and motion.  The filing fee payable to the
Clerk of Court is currently $30 to modify child support or maintenance, and $50 to
modify custody or placement.  If the moving party is indigent, the filing fee may be
waived.  The documents necessary for waiver of the filing fee are available from the
Clerk of Court's office on the second (top) floor of the Courthouse or at no charge on
the Internet at www.wicourts.gov.  You may retain an attorney to represent you in
such an action.  If you do so, the attorney will prepare and file the appropriate
documents for you.  If you are unable to afford an attorney, you may represent
yourself and appear pro se, i.e., by one's self.  The forms you will need to file and
serve on the other party, with necessary instructions, are available at the office of
the Clerk of Court or at no charge on the Internet at www.wicourts.gov.  You may
also be eligible for representation through Legal Action of Wisconsin, Inc.  (See
Section IV-B "Community and Area Resources.”)  You may also be able to find an
attorney willing to represent you at a reduced or no fee by calling the Lawyer
Referral and Information Service, sponsored by the State Bar of Wisconsin, at
800-362-9082.

Once the action to modify has been filed, it is the responsibility of the party
requesting modification to have an authenticated copy of the documents served on
the other party.  A party may not serve the documents himself/herself.  You may
contact the Sheriff's Department in the county where the other party resides or a
private process server in that area to serve the notice of motion and motion or order
to show cause and affidavit.  If you filed a notice of motion and motion rather than
an order to show cause and affidavit, you may mail an authenticated copy of the
notice of motion and motion to the other party, along with a copy of a completed
affidavit of mailing.  You will then not need to have the notice of motion and motion
served on the other party by the Sheriff’s Department or a private process server.

At the time the action is filed, the Clerk of Court's staff will give you a court
date which must be inserted in the notice of motion and motion or order to show
cause and affidavit.  On the hearing date, you will be appearing before the Judge
who has authority to hear and make  decisions on child support and maintenance
issues.  Both parties should bring as much income information as possible to the
hearing including a completed income and expense statement, including all required
attachments.

After reviewing the information submitted by the parties, the Court may make
a decision or order further proceedings.  The Court will generally ask the prevailing
party to prepare an order for the Court to sign which puts in writing the Court's
decision.  The order is a necessary step in the process of modifying the order in the
court records so it should not be overlooked.

If a party disagrees with the Court's decision, either party may appeal the
decision to the Court of Appeals.  You will need to file new paperwork with the Clerk
of Court and the Court of Appeals in order to do this.  You are encouraged to retain
the services of an attorney to assist you with an appeal.
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The Court cannot modify the amount of child support due prior to the filing
date of the notice of motion and motion or order to show cause and affidavit on the
other party.

III-C. MODIFICATION OF MAINTENANCE

In any request for modification of maintenance, the Court is required to again
consider all of the statutory factors it considered in the original award of
maintenance, as well as an increase in income of either party, an increase in the
cost of living, or receipt of an inheritance by the payee.  Once maintenance has
been ordered, it may be extended indefinitely by the Court if the motion is filed
timely, and if the moving party makes a proper showing to the Court of a substantial
change in circumstances.  This may occur even though the original order may have
provided for a definite term of maintenance and even though the parties may have
originally agreed upon a date certain when maintenance should terminate.  Any
request for extension of maintenance must be filed and served upon the other party
prior to the expiration of the original maintenance order.

Maintenance cannot be retroactively increased or decreased.

The remarriage of the recipient of maintenance or death of either party will
result in termination of the maintenance obligation if the payer files a motion to
terminate the maintenance based upon the remarriage or death of the payee.

III-D. MODIFICATION OF CUSTODY

If a party is requesting the removal of a child or children either outside the
state of Wisconsin or 150 miles away from the residence of the other parent, the
procedure for modification is found at Section II-E "Moving Child(ren) Inside or
Outside the State."

There are two different standards of proof required to modify a custody
judgment or physical placement order.  Generally it is more difficult to modify a
custody order within the first two (2) years after the initial order.  After two (2) years,
it is less difficult to modify an order of custody or physical placement.

Within two (2) years, it must be shown that the current legal custody
arrangement is physically or emotionally harmful to the child(ren), and that
modification of legal custody or physical placement or both is necessary.

After two (2) years, it must be shown that the modification of legal custody or
physical placement is in the best interests of the child(ren), and that there is a
substantial change in circumstances since the last order.  Even after two (2) years, it
is presumed that the current legal custody and physical placement arrangement is in
the best interests of the child(ren).
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A change in economic or marital status is an insufficient basis to modify an
existing legal custody or physical placement order.

The above standards for modification are the same regardless of whether the
parents have sole legal custody or joint legal custody.

If the parties have substantially equal periods of physical placement, the
Court at any time may modify the order if circumstances make it impractical.

Motions for modification of legal custody or physical placement are referred to
mediation, similar to the proceeding followed for the initial determination of those
issues.  (See Section II-F "Mediation/Custody Study Process.”)  There is no charge
to the parents for the first mediation session, and the fee for mediation if the
dispute(s) are not resolved during the first session is $200 due and payable prior to
the second mediation session.  If mediation is not appropriate or successful, the
Court may order a custody or physical placement study.  The fee for a custody study
is $300.  Also, if mediation does not produce an agreement, the Court may appoint
a Guardian ad Litem.  (See Section II-H "Guardian ad Litem.")  The Court may order
both parents to each pay an initial deposit of $250 to the Clerk of Court to be applied
to the Guardian ad Litem’s fees.

III-E. MODIFICATION OF PERIODS OF PHYSICAL PLACEMENT

The Court will hear a motion to modify periods of physical placement using
the same procedure as to modify custody.  The Court may modify periods of
physical placement if the Court finds that the modification does not substantially
alter the period of time a parent may spend with the child(ren), and the modification
is in the best interests of the child(ren). 

III-F. ENFORCEMENT OF SUPPORT/MAINTENANCE PAYMENTS

If the person who has been ordered to make child support, family support or
maintenance payments fails to do so, then the person who is entitled to receive the
payments can do the following:

1) Contact his or her attorney to bring an appropriate action in court to
enforce the order, including income or wage assignment and
contempt.  If you choose to proceed without the services of an
attorney, pro se forms and instructions are available at no charge on
the Internet at www.wicourts.gov.

2) Contact the Kewaunee County Child Support Agency located on the
main floor of the Courthouse for additional information.  The
Kewaunee County Child Support Agency is the designated local
enforcement authority to implement and administer the child support
and establishment of paternity and the medical support liability
programs provided for by Title IV of the federal Social Security Act, 42
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U.S.C. Sec. 651, et seq.  The Child Support Agency serves the public
interest, not you individually, by enforcing support obligations.  It does
not represent you, but rather the state of Wisconsin.

The Child Support Agency can only assist with actions to enforce child
support obligations, and does not become involved in actions to
enforce other provisions of a judgment.  

With one exception, the Child Support Agency will not become
involved in actions to modify the provisions of a judgment.  The
exception is the triannual review required by the Family Support Act of
1988, 42 U.S.C. Sec. 666(a)(10)(A).  The Child Support Agency is
required to review each child support order every three (3) years if you
are receiving cash benefits.  If the amount of child support ordered in
the judgment is not the same as the amount of child support
established in the current percentage guidelines, the Child Support
Agency will assist the custodial parent with an action to modify the
amount of child support.  If the amount of child support ordered in the
judgment is within the child support guidelines and the custodial parent
wants the amount of child support modified (increased), the Child
Support Agency will not participate in such an action for modification
but will provide information concerning how the custodial parent can
proceed with a modification proceeding.  The custodial parent may
then retain an attorney and file the necessary documents to modify the
judgment, or complete pro se forms himself/herself.

Services to enforce payment of child support will be provided if a
completed Application for Services is filed with the Child Support
Agency. 

Services to enforce child support obligations that will be provided by
the Child Support Agency include location of the absent parent,
enforcement and modification of a current order for child support,
enforcement of an order to provide medical insurance coverage, and
tax intercept.  Most services will be provided without any fee. 
However, fees may be charged for some services.  You will be notified
if a fee is necessary.  The Child Support Agency determines which
services will be provided on each case.  For further information,
contact the Child Support Agency.  To discontinue services, you must
notify the Child Support Agency in writing.

3) Failure to pay child support under certain circumstances is a crime. 
You should contact the District Attorney's office if criminal prosecution
is being sought, as opposed to the other remedies discussed herein. 
The District Attorney, whose office is located on the main floor of the
Courthouse, has the power to seek criminal warrants for non-support. 
If a warrant is issued, then the non-supporting parent can be arrested
and prosecuted for non-support.
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Under Section 948.22(2) of the Wisconsin Statutes, "...any person who
intentionally fails for 120 or more consecutive days to provide spousal,
grandchild or child support, which the person knows or reasonably
should know the person is legally obligated to pay, is guilty of a Class
E felony."

The District Attorney may seek a warrant after the filing of a criminal
complaint alleging a violation of Section 948.22(2).

The District Attorney will only file a criminal complaint after an
investigation is completed by the Child Support Agency and/or the
Sheriff's Department and charges are referred to the District Attorney.

The District Attorney makes the final determination on whether or not
criminal charges will be filed. 

A criminal prosecution may be in addition to any other enforcement
action.

4) Another device which is available to enforce the child support order is
the income assignment.  An income assignment is a document which
is issued by court order to persons who have an obligation to make
support payments.  If a payment is thirty (30) days late, the Child
Support Agency may order that the support payments be deducted
from the payer's paycheck.  This deduction would cover both current
support and past due support payments.

If the income assignment is not effective, then the person who failed to
pay support can be ordered to appear before the Judge to show cause
why he or she should not be held in contempt of court for failing to
make the payments.  Contempt of court is when one intentionally
violates the Court's order.  If a person is found in contempt, the Judge
has the power to order that person to spend a number of days in jail.

Instead of having to serve jail time immediately, the Court will allow the
payer to purge his or her contempt by completing certain conduct,
such as:

a) Comply with all current child support orders;

b) Pay a certain monthly amount to be applied to any past due
child support;

c) Comply with a court order to seek full-time employment;

d) Produce certain information for the Court such as income tax
returns, all wage statements, etc.  
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5) Another method of child support enforcement is the Tax Intercept
Program.  Under this program, a child support payer's income tax
refunds, both state and federal, can be seized to be applied to past
due child support.  For more information, contact the Kewaunee
County Child Support Agency on the main floor of the Courthouse.

III-G. ENFORCEMENT OF CUSTODY AND PHYSICAL PLACEMENT
RIGHTS

If any parent with legal or physical placement rights believes those rights are
being interfered with, he or she may apply to the Family Court Commissioner
concerning the problem.  Upon application, the Family Court Commissioner will refer
the party or parties to a mediator.  If the mediator believes mediation is appropriate,
then the mediation process will proceed until settlement, or until mediation
terminates.  If an agreement is reached in mediation, the parties must reduce the
specific terms of the agreement in writing to be filed with the Court.  This agreement
must be signed by the parties and provide for the approval and the signature of the
parties’ attorneys.

If mediation is deemed inappropriate or is terminated, a party may then file
with the Court an order to show cause or motion to enforce physical placement
rights.  This can be done with or without the assistance of an attorney.  If you
choose to proceed without the services of an attorney, pro se forms and brief
instructions are available at no charge on the Internet at www.wicourts.gov.  The
Court has the power of contempt to enforce custody or physical placement rights of
a parent.

A parent may also file a motion to enforce a physical placement order if: 1)
the parent has had one or more periods of physical placement denied, or
substantially interfered with by the other parent, or 2) the parent has incurred a
financial loss or expense as a result of the other parent’s intentional failure to
exercise periods of physical placement under an order allocating specific times for
the exercise of periods of physical placement.

Personal service of the motion or order to show cause is required.  Service
must be accomplished by someone other than the person bringing the motion or
order to show cause.  

If, after a hearing, the Court finds that a parent did intentionally and
unreasonably interfere with placement, a Court will enter orders ranging from
awarding the parent make-up time to granting an injunction to ensure strict
compliance with the placement schedule, depending upon the facts and
circumstances of the case.

No Court may deny periods of physical placement for failure to meet nor
grant periods of physical placement for meeting any financial obligation to the child
or former spouse.
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Periods of physical placement with a child may not be denied by the parent
with placement of the child for failure of the other parent to pay child support or meet
any other financial obligation.

Violation of physical placement rights by the custodial parent does not
constitute reason for failure to meet child support obligations.

Wisconsin law provides a child is entitled to periods of placement with both
parents unless after a hearing the Court finds placement with a parent would
endanger the child's physical, mental or emotional health.

III-H.  PARENTING PROGRAM

In all actions affecting the family involving a minor child, including requests for
mediation, each parent will be required to attend an education program on the
effects of divorce on children and providing training in parenting or co-parenting
skills approved by the Court.  The program available through the County consists of
two (2) classes on consecutive weeks for two (2) hours each week.  Pre-registration
for the program is required and the cost of the program is $25.00 and must be paid
at the first session.  A certificate of compliance will be issued at the completion of
the program and the original certificate must be filed with the Kewaunee County
Clerk of Court.  In divorce actions, a copy of the certificate must be sent to the
Family Court Commissioner prior to the final divorce hearing.  In custody, support
and paternity actions, a copy of the certificate must be sent to the Family Court
Commissioner prior to commencement of the mediation referral. 
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IV. RESOURCES AVAILABLE TO ASSIST PARTIES

IV-A. FAMILY COURT SERVICES

In Kewaunee County, the Family Court Commissioner is also the Director of
Family Court Services.  This agency arranges for mediation services and physical
placement/custody studies for parents who are having difficulty with legal custody
and physical placement issues.  There are mediators available through Family Court
Services to assist parents.  There is no charge for the first mediation session, and
the fee for mediation services in excess of the first session is $200 due and payable
prior to the second mediation session.  The fee for a custody study or physical
placement study is $300.  A form you may complete to request mediation is
available at the Family Court Commissioner's office or at no charge on the Internet
at www.kewauneeco.org.

IV-B. COMMUNITY AND AREA RESOURCES

1)  Members of the Kewaunee County Bar Association

Name Telephone
(all area code 920)

Dennis J. Abts
ABTS LAW OFFICE
416 Oak St.
P.O. Box 320
Luxemburg, WI 54217-0320

845-5828

Jacob M. Blazkovec
BLAZKOVEC, BLAZKOVEC & DOWNEY
409 Steele St.
P.O. Box 98
Algoma, WI 54201-0098

487-5571

Thomas S. Burke
BURKE LAW OFFICE
625 Main St.
P.O. Box 261
Luxemburg, WI 54217-0261

845-5060
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Troy C. Dalebroux
LAW OFFICE OF TROY C. DALEBROUX
151 Commerce Drive
P.O. Box 39
Luxemburg, WI 54217-0039

845-2365

James A. Downey
BLAZKOVEC, BLAZKOVEC & DOWNEY
409 Steele St.
P.O. Box 98
Algoma, WI 54201-0098

487-5571

Timothy G. Duffy
DUFFY LAW OFFICE
125 Quincy St.
P.O. Box 1251
Green Bay, WI 54305-1251

496-9646

Mark W. Hunter
OFFICE OF THE STATE PUBLIC
DEFENDER
139 S. Washington St.
Green Bay, WI 54301-4210

448-5433

Jeffrey A. Jazgar
LAW OFFICE OF JEFFREY JAZGAR SC
619 E. Walnut St.
P.O. Box 22224
Green Bay, WI 54305-2224

436-9366

Sarah S. Malcore
MALCORE & GAECKE LLC
2701 Larsen Rd.
P.O. Box 225
Green Bay, WI 54305-0225

471-3535

Debra R. Mancoske
DEBRA MANCOSKE LAW OFFICE
122 S. Washington St.
Green Bay, WI 543014211

430-9909
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Keith A. Mehn
SLATKY, WOLSKE & MEHN
510 Main St.
P.O. Box 146
Kewaunee, WI 54216-0146

*

Richard B. Meier
ELLIS STREET LAW OFFICE SC
208 Ellis St.
P.O. Box 215
Kewaunee, WI 54216-0215

606-7166

Douglas J. Messmann
MESSMANN LAW OFFICE
213 Ellis St.
Kewaunee, WI 54216-1005

388-3273

Ronald C. Messmann
MESSMANN LAW OFFICE
213 Ellis Street
Kewaunee, WI 54216-1005

388-3273

Andrew P. Naze
KEWAUNEE COUNTY DISTRICT 
ATTORNEY'S OFFICE
Kewaunee County Courthouse
613 Dodge Street
Kewaunee, WI 54216-1322

388-7194

Steven G. Richards
EVERSON, RICHARDS & BURDON LLP
127 Main St.
P.O. Box 8
Casco, WI 54205-0008

837-2653

Heather L. Richmond
THE RICHMOND LAW FIRM
414 E. Walnut St., Suite 210
Green Bay, WI 54301-5020

857-9347
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Ellen M. Ronsman
RONSMAN LAW OFFICE SC
311 Main St.
P.O. Box 185
Casco, WI 54205-0185

837-2626

Jeffrey R. Wisnicky
KEWAUNEE COUNTY CORPORATION 
COUNSEL
Kewaunee County Courthouse
613 Dodge Street
Kewaunee, WI 54216-1322

388-7148

William J. Wolske
SLATKY, WOLSKE & MEHN
510 Main St.
P.O. Box 146
Kewaunee, WI 54216-0146

*

*Note:  As members of the law firm that includes the Kewaunee County Family
Court Commissioner’s office, these attorneys, by law, cannot participate in actions
affecting the family including divorce matters in Kewaunee County. 

2)  Legal Action of Wisconsin
201 W. Walnut Street, Suite 203
Green Bay, Wisconsin 54303
920-432-4645
Toll free:  1-800-236-1127
www.legalaction.org

Legal Action of Wisconsin is funded primarily by the Legal Services
Corporation to help provide free legal assistance to low-income people in non-
criminal areas of the law.  It is not a government agency, although much of its
funding comes from contracts under governmental programs.

Applications are taken by telephone.  The office is open weekdays from 8:00
a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  Special arrangements can be made for disabled or non-English
speaking persons.

Services must be limited based on available funding and volunteer resources. 
Examples of cases which may be accepted include tenant rights, public assistance
rights, debtor rights, family violence, special education rights, and certain civil rights
cases.

The need for help with family law problems is overwhelming.  This is its
largest single-category of caseload.  In order to offer a range of services including
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other high-priority subject areas, it is necessary to limit family law work to the most
serious cases.

Examples of family law matters normally NOT accepted include:

a. Divorces not involving domestic abuse.

b. Most disputes over setting, collection or modification of child support.

c. Disputes about the terms of visitation.

d. Most custody disputes except as stated above.

e. Disputes about the distribution or disposal of marital property.

f. Matters where the opposing party has financial resources such that a
private attorney could obtain a court order for contribution to the
client's attorney fee or obtain the fee from the disposition of marital
assets.

3)  State Bar of Wisconsin’s Lawyer Referral and Information Service
1-800-362-9082
www.wisbar.org

When appropriate, it can refer you to an attorney in your geographic area or
elsewhere in Wisconsin who has indicated an interest in dealing with your type of
legal situation.  The first half-hour consultation with the attorney will cost $20 or less.

When you call to make an appointment, tell the attorney that you have been
referred by the Lawyer Referral and Information Service.  In some cases, you will
receive an answer to your problem at the first meeting.  If your problem requires
work beyond the first half-hour, ask the attorney about his/her fees.   

Maybe you do not need an attorney.  Lawyer Referral and Information
Service knows of other legal service organizations, government agencies, or
community resources that might be able to help with your legal concerns.  If this is
the type of referral you need, you will be provided with information about resources
such as consumer protection, the legislative hotline, low income legal services, the
equal rights division, or other services.

4)  Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan, Inc.
3003-A North Richmond St.
Appleton, WI 54911-1715
920-730-1326
www.lsswis.org
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Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan, Inc., is a
nonprofit agency which offers the following services to persons involved in family
court matters:

Individual, marriage and family counseling, divorce adjustment counseling for
both adults and children, and counseling for the single parent.

Specialized counseling programs for victims and perpetrators of sexual
abuse.

Drug and alcohol assessment and counseling are also available on a limited
basis.

5)  Catholic Charities of the Diocese of Green Bay
Bona Hall
1825 Riverside Drive
P.O. Box 23825
Green Bay, WI 54313
920-272-8234

Catholic Charities is a fully certified and accredited agency for parent/child,
marriage/divorce, and other personal counseling, and serves people of all faiths. 
Budget and financial counseling is also available.

Counseling can take several forms (one-to-one, joint couple, or joint parent
with/without children) and be effective sometimes with a one time only consultation
meeting.  The typical counseling episode lasts a brief period of time, from one to
three months (4-12 weekly sessions), depending on the number and severity of
problems.

Most Catholic Charities’ counselors hold master's degrees in such fields as
clinical social work or psychology and many have developed special skills through
advanced training programs in family/marital therapy.  There is a certified alcohol
and drug abuse counselor on staff as well as a clinical psychologist.

Appointments are made by contacting the receptionist at 920/272-8234. 
Normal hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Insurance often covers the cost of counseling.  Client fees are based on a
sliding fee scale.  Medical assistance and medicaid are accepted.

6)  Holy Family Memorial Tamarack Behavioral Health
339 Reed Avenue
Manitowoc, WI 54221-0037
920/320-8600
www.hfmhealth.org/behavioralhealth
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Holy Family Memorial Behavioral Health is a member of the Wisconsin
Association of Family & Children’s Agencies, Wisconsin Alcohol and Drug
Treatment Providers Association, and Wisconsin Association of Outpatient Mental
Health Facilities.  

Master’s level clinical social workers and counselors provide a wide range of
counseling services.  Its Ph.D. clinical psychologist can provide psychological testing
as well as psychotherapy.  Certified alcohol and drug abuse professionals work with
both adolescents and adults.

Counseling sessions may be covered by insurance.  Holy Family Memorial
Behavioral Health Center is also certified for medicare and medical assistance.  If
you need services and have limited financial resources, a discounted fee based on
ability to pay is available.

Counseling hours are Monday through Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. and
Friday 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

7)  Delforge Counseling LLC
529 S. Jefferson St., Suite 105
Green Bay, WI 54301
920-884-6700
www.delforgecounseling.com

Delforge Counseling LLC provides a four-hour course entitled
“TransParenting.”  This is an educational program designed to teach effective
parenting during the divorce process or parental separation.  Topics include typical
reactions of children, skills that help children cope, and communicating with your
children.

The counselor at Delforge Counseling has a master’s degree in social work
and twenty years experience working with parents and children.

The course is held at St. Brendan's Inn, Green Bay, WI on Saturday
mornings from 8:00 a.m. to noon and Monday evenings from 5:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. 
Pre-registration for the course is required and the cost is $40 per parent and must
be paid at the time of pre-registration.  

Delforge Counseling LLC also offers individual, couple and family therapy.  A
free fifteen minute phone consultation is offered to determine if the services offered
by Delforge Counseling LLC are appropriate for you.
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8)  Financial Information Service Center and Consumer Credit Counseling
Services

30 N. 18th Avenue
P.O. Box 652
Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
920-743-1862

Since 1994, the Financial Information Service Center and Consumer Credit
Counseling Services (FISC/CCCS) has served both Kewaunee and Door County
residents.  FISC/CCCS is a nonprofit agency supported, in part, by United Way
funds from both counties and is one of three branches of FISC/CCCS of Northeast
Wisconsin.  The Door/Kewaunee branch of FISC/CCCS supports a 3/4 time staff
person and is governed by an eight-member Board of Directors.  FISC provides
budget and credit counseling, consumer advocacy, debt management plans, and
educational workshops to meet the needs of people of all income levels.  Whether
individuals or couples have six figures of income and six figures in debt or four
figures of income and four figures in debt, FISC/CCCS assists people who want to
get out of debt and stay out of debt.  By encouraging communication about money
and spending values and by helping people develop realistic spending plans,
FISC/CCCS helps people feel in control of their finances and spending choices.

The FISC/CCCS office is located on the corner of 18th Avenue and Michigan
Street in Sturgeon Bay in the Orchard Hill Professional Complex, one block west of
the highway.  It is located next to Dr. Robert Schrank's dental office in the
northernmost building on 18th Avenue.  There is a $50 ONE TIME ONLY fee for
budget counseling and a monthly payment up to $30 per month for debt
management plans respectively, payable at the second appointment or arranged
over time.  Workshop costs are $35/person or $40/couple for four sessions. 
However, no one is turned away due to inability to pay.  Office hours vary to
accommodate clients.  Call first to make an appointment.

9)  Kewaunee County Department of Human Services
810 Lincoln Street      
Kewaunee, WI 54216 
920-388-7030
www.kewauneeco.org    

Kewaunee County Department of Human Services, formerly the Kewaunee
County Department of Social Services and the Kewaunee County Department of
Community Programs, administers social service programs in accordance with state
and federal laws including child and elderly abuse services, individual and family
counseling, child care reimbursement and certification of providers, alternate care
for children, juvenile court services, court-ordered mediation and custody studies,
court-ordered supervised visitation, stepparent adoption screening reports,
supportive home care for the elderly, medical assistance reimbursed transportation
services, and information and referral services.  Kewaunee County Department of
Human Services also provides services to citizens with disabilities in Kewaunee
County.  These include psychiatric, alcohol and other drug abuse programs, the
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Community Options Program which allows individuals to remain in their own homes
rather than enter a nursing home, if they so desire, Long Term Community Support
Programs for those with severe disabilities, protective payee for those that need
financial management as well as numerous other services.

Financial assistance programs include FoodShare, medical assistance and
energy assistance.

Hours for the Kewaunee County Department of Human Services are Monday
through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.  For after hours emergency services, contact
the Kewaunee County Sheriff’s Department.

10)  Violence Intervention Project, Inc.
1405 Division Street
Algoma, WI 54201
920-487-2111
920-837-2424 (24 hour help line)

Violence Intervention Project, Inc., provides a number of services for victims
of domestic violence and sexual assault.  They include:

SUPPORT AND ADVOCACY

* 24-hour confidential phone line.
* Systems advocacy: assistance in accessing community resources.
* Legal advocacy: providing information and support throughout various legal
procedures; i.e., court processes, restraining order, etc.
* Safe home program: emergency shelter available for victims and their minor
child(ren).
* Support groups for victims and survivors of domestic violence and sexual
assault.
* Abuser treatment: alternatives to violence and anger management groups
for perpetrators of abuse.

INFORMATION AND REFERRAL

* Regarding jobs, job training, attorneys, counseling, child abuse, health care,
drug and alcohol problems, child care, and housing.
* For neighbors, friends, professionals, and employers with concern for
victims of abuse.

11)  Brown County United Way 2-1-1
1245 Main St.
Green Bay, WI 54302
2-1-1
www.211.org
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2-1-1 is a free and confidential non-emergency telephone number that
connects people with community services and volunteer opportunities.  2-1-1 is
available 24/7, assisting residents of Kewaunee, Door and Brown counties to locate
and utilize community resources, from finding an after school program to securing
adequate care for a child or an aging parent.  With 2-1-1, help is always a phone call
away.

2-1-1 can provide information about:

* Basic Resources: food pantries, shelters, rent.
* Disaster Information and Resources: 2-1-1 serves as an information hotline
during times of an epidemic or disaster.
* Physical and Mental Health Resources: health care and crisis intervention,
support groups, counseling.
* Employment Support: job training, transportation assistance, education
programs.
* Support for Children and Families: child care, after school programs, Head
Start, family resource centers, mentoring, tutoring, protective services.
* Volunteer opportunities and information about how to make donations.
* And much more.

2-1-1 should not be called in times when you would otherwise dial 9-1-1.

12)  Helpful Telephone Numbers (all area code 920)

Kewaunee County Clerk of Court 388-7144
Kewaunee County Department of 388-7030
Human Services
Kewaunee County Child Support Agency 388-7172
Kewaunee County Sheriff’s Department 388-3100
Kewaunee County District Attorney  388-7194

IV-C. CUSTOMARY VISITATION SCHEDULE

CUSTOMARY VISITATION BY A NONCUSTODIAL PARENT

The child(ren) are to be with the parent not having primary physical
placement at the following times:

1.  Alternate weekends from five o'clock in the afternoon on Friday until
eight o'clock in the evening on the Sunday following.  Any holiday weekend under
the terms of the following provisions is not to be included in this alternating weekend
arrangement and, when such a holiday occurs, the alternating weekends are to
continue as though the holiday weekend did not exist.

2.  For six weeks during the summer school recess of the school system in
which the child(ren) reside [whether or not the child(ren) are yet actually enrolled in
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school], with the non-primary custodial parent to select such six weeks and to notify
the primary custodial parent on or before May 1 in each year as to which six weeks
have been selected.  The six weeks do not need to be consecutive.  This six-week
period shall in no event include the week immediately preceding the date when
school resumes in the fall.  In the event the six weeks selected are consecutive or
three or more weeks are selected consecutively, the primary custodial parent shall
have alternate weekend placement during this six-week period commencing the
second weekend of the consecutive portion of the six-week period and such
placement shall be consistent with the alternate weekend placement outlines in
Section 1 herein.

3.  The child(ren) to spend Mother’s Day weekend with their mother
regardless of other visitation provisions and to spend Father’s Day weekend with
their father regardless of other visitation provisions.  This period is to commence on
Friday afternoon at five o'clock p.m. and continues until eight o'clock p.m. on
Sunday.

4.  For one week during the Christmas school recess of the school system in
which the child(ren) reside [whether or not the child(ren) are yet enrolled], such
week to begin on the first day after the last school day in even-numbered years and
in odd-numbered years to end on the last day before school resumes.  There is to
be no weekend placement with the noncustodial parent during Christmas school
recess except that the primary custodial parent shall be entitled to placement on
Christmas Eve in odd numbered years and Christmas Day in even numbered years
from eight o'clock a.m. to eight o'clock p.m.

5.  In odd-numbered years for the entire spring or Easter school recess of
the school system in which the child(ren) reside, commencing at five o'clock in the
afternoon on the last day of school prior to the recess and ending at eight o'clock in
the evening on the last day prior to the resumption of school.  The child(ren) are to
be with the custodial parent for the same period in even-numbered years regardless
of any other provisions.

6.  In even-numbered years for Labor Day and Memorial Day weekends
from five o'clock in the afternoon on Friday until eight o'clock in the evening of the
holiday.  The child(ren) are to be with the custodial parent for the same periods in
odd-numbered years regardless of other provisions.

7.  In odd-numbered years, the Thanksgiving holiday from five o'clock in the
afternoon on Wednesday until eight o'clock in the evening on Thanksgiving Day. 
The child(ren) are to be with the custodial parent for the same period in even-
numbered years regardless of other provisions.

8.  The parent with primary physical placement shall deliver the child(ren) to
the parent with secondary physical placement at the beginning of each visitation
period.  The parent with secondary physical placement shall return the child(ren) at
the end of the visitation period.  
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