Kewaunee County Highway Department
Application for Driveway and/or Alterations on County Trunk Highways

Return this form to: Kewaunee County Highway Department
E4280 County Road F
Kewaunee, W1 54216
Telephone: 920/388-3707

Name of Owner: Date:
(Permit is made out & issued to owner only)
Present Address:
City: Zip Code: Telephone;
Township where new driveway is located: Section, Town & Range;
Address for New Driveway: City & Zip Code:
FEE: $75.00 Plus $25.00 for each additional driveway for
property owner.
After-the-fact FEE: $150.00 Plus $50.00 for each additional
driveway for property owner. Signature of Applicant

Type of Permit Requested:
[ ] Driveway [] Blacktopping of Driveway [ ] Landscaping

[ ] Number of Drives [ ] Rebuilding of Driveway [ ] Relocation of Driveway
[] How much frontage do you have on the County Highway?

[ ] What is the purpose of this request?

[ ] What Highway is involved? [ ] Side of Highway?

[ ] Type of building? (Commercial — Residential)
[ ] Location:

(Locate to nearest named side road hy feet or miles)

PLEASE PLACE A STAKE IN THE CENTER OF THE DITCH AT THE LOCATION
OF THE DRIVEWAY SO WE CAN LOCATE THE SITE
ALL COST OF PIPE & INSTALLATION IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF LAND OWNER

(Below this line — For office use only)

[ ] Pipe Diameter:

[] Pipe Length:
[ ] Require Endwalls: YES / NO




Kewaunee County Highway Department
Application for Driveway and/or Alterations on County Trunk Highways

Wisconsin Statutes 86.05 provides that “Whenever it is necessary in making any highway
improvement to cut or fill or otherwise grade the highway in front of any entrance to abutting
premises, a suitable entrance to the premises shall be constructed as a part of the improvements
and if the premises are divided by the highway, then one such entrance shall be constructed on
each side of the highway. Thereafter each pipe/entrance shall be maintained by the owner of the
premises.”

Wisconsin Statutes 86.07 (2) provides that “No person shall make any excavation or fill or install
any culvert or make any other alteration in any highway or in any manner disturb any highway or
bridge without a permit therefore from the highway authority maintaining the highway, * etc.

In Summary, the Kewaunee County Highway Department is obligated to provide a driveway only
when making major grading improvements past said property. At all other times, the property
owner must (1) obtain the required permit from this office, (2) install his/her driveway, supplying
the required culvert. Culvert does not have to be new, but the culvert must be in good condition
and pass Highway Inspection. If plastic pipe is authorized, double wall plastic shall be required.
(3) maintain the driveway henceforth. Vertical retaining walls are not permitted on driveways,
rather a 2 to 1 slope is required.

2to 1 Slope 2to 1 Slope

________________________________________________________________________________________



